• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

New Antenna Install

Nick23

Desperado, 785
Aug 16, 2013
Bangor, ME
I have been using a CB radio for about 4 years now and am just now getting more serious about the hobby. I ran a k30 then a little wil. Trying to get more serious I got a Predator 10-k with a single 5 inch mag(stupid I know now). Then with a new residence I ran into some height issues switched to a 4 Wilson fgt. I have finally decided to do a hard mount( after many issue of poor performance and magnets flying off). Need some guidance here: should I drill a hole in the center of my roof and run an antenna under 5 feet or do a door jamb mount on the back hatch of my truck. If I do the door jamb mount I would run a 102 whip. Problem I have a roof rack... Will a antenna in the center of my roof under 5 feet preform better than a 102 near a roof rack? Also will a door jamb mount with a good spring hold a 102 whip?

PS I have a 1999 Toyota 4Runner(google some pics of the roof rack)
Suggestions?
Thanks for any help

If it were me I would run a sirio o 5000 on there roof mount I ruin close to this setup and love it but your call in the end

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk

Get a sirio pl5000 performer and the 145 mag mount and be good to go. They run about 135 dollars from DNJ RADIO. Great antenna, smokes the wilson 5000 and the k40, I had both and now have the sirio, your rx/tx range will benefit so much. Good luck and god bless

Reactions: 1 person
roof mount your 10k or roof mount the sirio 5000 performer.
sure these are longer but will work much better than any 4 ft antenna
only a 9ft whip will be better. [probaly not a whole lot either]